****4.5 ‘Heart of Fate’ STARS****

A tender tale of first summer love, painful separations and second fateful chances, I thoroughly enjoyed watching this young couple fall in love and get the chance to reclaim it as adults.  Peppered with some unexpected surprises, both emotionally and spiritually, Lili Valente grabbed my heart and didn’t let go until ‘The End’.

“It’s a spark, a flicker of recognition, a warning that things are about to change in ways I could never have imagined when I woke up in my bed that morning, so certain the path was mapped and the way was clear.”

Brought together by their love of horror novels and all things haunted, Nate/Pretty Devil/P.D. Casey (H) and Adeline/Ad/Einstein Klein (h) spent their last summer before college exploring haunts and falling in love.  Never expecting to find love at this time in their lives they both, however, realize what they have is real and once-in-a-lifetime.  But their desires and their parents are at odds and unbeknownst to the both of them it’s only a matter of time…until it all falls apart.

“I learned the hard way what happens when you bit the hand that feeds you.  It bites back, leaving wounds that never completely heal.”

A coming-of-age tale that starts off with a sweet, hot look at first love and developing into a second chance romance peppered with angst, guilt, heartbreaking choices, friendship, forgiveness, love, humor and some paranormal elements, I really loved the added dynamics of chance and fate in this book and how they worked to bring Nate and Adeline together.  This quick story held my attention all afternoon and I couldn’t stop smiling in between mending the tears in my heart.  Adeline’s reveal broke my heart and I wanted to reach into the book and hug her.  At the same time, Nate’s unfailing determination and dedication to loving and regaining Adeline’s love was swoon-worthy.  When the reality of Adeline’s past hits him everything in him rises up to be the man she needs – her forever.  There are so many elements in these pages – good elements – it delighted me and made me feel like I spent and afternoon watching a MUCH steamier version of Hallmark.

“I used to kiss his perfect lips until my mouth was bruised and the taste of him was my entire world.”

Simply put this book is a charming second chance romance that gave me all the feels.  A little bit of everything – light-hearted, angsty, swoony, silly, and a little far out (the cabin *blinks*) it all came together perfectly.  With her engaging approach, easy writing style and vibrant characters, Lili Valente is definitely a 1-click author.

“There are more things in heaven and earth then we can dream of, but love’s imagination is limitless.”

*I received this eBook as an ARC.  This in no way effects my rating or review.*

K’s Category: 3rd date, multiple novels read by author to date.

Characters: M/F

OM/OW: No

Sex: Yes, descriptive

HEA: Yes

Standalone: Yes

GOODREADS

AMAZON US

