***3 ‘Unicorn’s & Whiskey’ STARS***

New author duo Piper Rayne serves up a new romantic comedy series starting us off with a stubborn girl starting over and the cocky, sexy bartender she can’t resist.  Filled with tight friendships, some laughs and and sweet moments this low angst read was a pleasant way to pass the afternoon.

“I’ve never felt like a bigger loser in my life.”

Whitney/Whit (h) never thought she’d end up living back with her grandparents attempting to start her life over again.  After a string of crappy circumstances she’s ready to let loose a little – and after a few drinks she’s got some liquid courage and a plan.  But like the rest of her plans lately, it doesn’t go as…well…planned.  Waking up in the sexy bartenders bed has never been so unnerving for Whit.

“This is the start of an amazing new chapter in my life.”

Being a Webber, of the San Francisco Webber’s, is a hassle Cole Webber (H) could do without.  His high society family shares none of his interests nor supports any of his endeavors.  When news of his brother engagement hits, he’ll step up to play his part – never realizing it’ll pay off in the form of the feisty, stubborn maid of honor he can’t get out of his mind.

“Just because you don’t know what you’re missing doesn’t mean it didn’t leave any scars.”

I love getting caught up in the laughter and chemistry of a Romantic Comedy; I didn’t get as caught up here as I thought I would.  While this book was a nice way to pass my afternoon, I didn’t love it.  I had a difficult time connecting to Whit and found her to be immature and unable to take personal responsibility.  I didn’t like those characteristics and although she shows some growth in the story it was too late and not enough to change my opinion.  I loved Cole.  He was a sexy, alpha hottie with a good heart.  His acceptance of his prior douchebag ways and growth was earlier in the story, I believed it, and I liked the direction his character went in.  They both have secrets throughout the book and I thought they were a bit anti-climactic.  The pacing was too slow for me.  Whit struggles with her relationship with Cole for three-quarters of the book and then in span of one paragraph has an epiphany and changes her mind – which then proceeds with sexy times – it felt way too much like rushed storyline advancement and not organic to the story.  Whit’s friends are a breath of fresh air and I loved the loyalty and bond the girls had.  Lennon and her quips were funny; I’d like to see more of her.  The humor was on point in the beginning, but somewhere after the first half of the book it started to feel forced and cliché.  All in all, this was an OK read, 3 stars for me is in no way is bad – just predictable and average; I feel a little tightening up and additional dynamics would benefit the story.  As this is Piper Rayne’s first book together I’m more apt to think they’re finding their style and rhythm and taking that into account I would read the next in the series.  If you’re thinking about trying this book, I say give it a go, my ‘meh’ could be your ‘OMG’.

“Stop bowing.  I’m not royalty.”

“To the right guy, you are.”

K’s Category: 1st date, first novel read by author to date

Characters: M/F

OM/OW: N

Sex: Yes, descriptive

HEA: Yes

Standalone: Yes

GOODREADS

AMAZON US

